Burwood / ChatswoodTel: (02) 8710 0441


The UCAT is part of the selection process for Australian undergraduate students entering into certain university medical and health science courses.

The University Clinical Aptitude Test, or UCAT, is the new admission test used by most Australian and New Zealand universities for their medical, dental and clinical science degree programs, replacing the UMAT.

It is the largest medical admissions test in the UK, used by a consortium of about thirty UK universities in selection for medicine and dentistry degrees. As of 2019 they are joined by the UCAT ANZ Consortium, a group of Australian and New Zealand universities.

The last UMAT was conducted in July 2018, it was the last to be held and there will no more held in the future. Registration for the UCAT began in March 2019 and the first UCAT testing took place throughout July 2019.

UCAT will be used for most universities that offer undergraduate entrance to medicine and dentistry, as well as some postgraduate universities. The following is a list of the Australian UCAT consortium universities that will use the exam:

  • The University of New South Wales - Medicine
  • Western Sydney University - Medicine
  • The University of Newcastle/University of New England - Joint Medical Program
  • Charles Sturt University - Dental Science
  • Monash University - Medicine
  • The University of Queensland - Medicine (provisional entry), Dental Science
  • University of Adelaide - Medicine, Dental Surgery, Oral Health
  • Flinders University - Clinical Sciences / Medicine
  • Curtin University - Medicine
  • University of Western Australia - Medicine (Direct Pathway), Dental Medicine (Direct Pathway)
  • University of Tasmania - Medicine

Please note that some pathways to medicine, dentistry and clinical sciences will not require the UCAT (eg. Sydney University). For some applicants a different entry criteria or test may be required.

The UCAT is a two-hour computer-based test that assesses a range of abilities identified by universities as important to practicing in the fields of medicine, dentistry and clinical sciences. It consists of five separately-timed sections that must be done consecutively, each of which contains a number of multiple-choice questions. Once started, the test cannot be paused for a break, however before each section there is a timed instruction period.

The format of the exam is as follows:

  • Section 1 (44 questions, 21 minutes): Verbal Reasoning - Assesses the ability to critically evaluate information presented in a written form.
  • Section 2 (29 questions, 31 minutes): Decision Making - Assesses the ability to make sound decisions and judgements using complex information.
  • Section 3 (36 questions, 24 minutes): Quantitative Reasoning - Assesses the ability to critically evaluate information presented in a numerical form.
  • Section 4 (55 questions, 13 minutes): Abstract Reasoning - Assesses the use of convergent and divergent thinking to infer relationships from information.
  • Section 5 (69 questions, 26 minutes): Situational Judgement - Measures the capacity to understand real world situations and to identify critical factors and appropriate behaviour in dealing with them.

The UCAT is held each year on various dates throughout July, in Pearson VUE test centres throughout Australia, New Zealand and at some overseas locations. UCAT results cannot be carried over from one year to the next. In other words, they can only be used to apply for courses in the following year.

Visit the UCAT ANZ Website

Back to Top